最近瀏覽

關於特藏



域多利監獄

香港第一所監獄

域多利監獄建於1841年,是香港早期的建築物之一,亦是香港在1937年前唯一一所監獄,地位十分重要域多利監獄曾數度易名,反映其在不同時代有不同的作用。通過本特藏,希望讀者了解域多利監獄的歷史變遷,從而對香港的刑事司法的改革有更深入的認識。

域多利監獄在不同年代的名字

1841年至1937年──域多利監獄(Victorial Gaol)

1939年至1965年──域多利收押所(Victoria Remand Prison)

1967年至1977年──域多利羈留中心(Victoria Reception Centre)

1977年至2005年──域多利監獄(Victoria Prison)

1840年代域多利監獄的建築物早已因為要應付囚犯人數不斷增加和改善刑罰制度上的需要而被拆卸,現時域多利監獄的建築物己經歷過不同年代的改建和更新。

域多利監獄曾於19379月於香港監獄(赤柱監獄)啓用後短暫結役,但由於囚犯數目增長太快,赤柱監獄囚位不夠應用域多利監獄於兩年後需要重開由於當時它只接收還押犯所以叫作域多利收押所

除這兩年及由日軍於194112月佔領香港至1946年戰後期間,域多利監獄都在正常運作,在不同年代都接收過男女己定罪之犯人,還押犯和羁留犯域多利收押所於1965年改名叫域多利羈留中心,於1977年又改名叫域多利監獄,反映出它在不同年代所擔任的職務域多利監獄最後於200512月結役,結束了它在香港165年刑罰制度上所擔當的角色。

域多利監獄作為刑事司法制度中專責處理還押和被判刑犯人的一環,見證了香港由殖民地時代到回歸中國後在不同年代經歷不斷改進的刑罰制度,而達到目前先進的覊押,監管和囚犯更生服務。由於監獄工作的本質,香港的監獄服務通常都是在高牆或鐵網內進行。外界人士很少有機會接觸監獄服務,直到1998年懲教署成立了更生事務科,並大力向公眾推廣這嶄新的懲教理念和相關的更生服務,社會人士才開始對香港的懲教工作有更深入的認識。

To view this page ensure that Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.0 or greater is installed. Get Adobe Flash player

Recently Visited

About the Collection

Victoria Prison
The First Prison in Hong Kong

Victoria Gaol, one of the earliest buildings erected by the British in 1841, had been Hong Kong's first and the only main prison until 1937. The Gaol was renamed several times reflecting its change of functions over the years. Victoria Prison's decommission in 2005 ended its role after 165 years of service in Hong Kong. This collection allows readers to gain more in-depth information on the development of Hong Kong's penal policy and programme through changes happened to and within Victoria Prison.

Renaming Victoria Prison:

1841-1937- Victoria Gaol
1939-1965- Victoria Remand Prison
1967-1977- Victoria Reception Centre
1977-2005- Victoria Prison

The original gaol buildings of the 1840s were long demolished with newer prison buildings erected in situ and by phases addressing the accommodation needs of the prison and reflecting the changing penal philosophy at the time.

Apart from the two-year closure and during the time of the Japanese occupation of Hong Kong in December 1941 till shortly after the War in 1946, Victoria Prison had always been a working prison housing remands, prisoners and detainees of both sexes at various times. The name of Victoria Remand Prison was changed to Victoria Reception Centre in 1965 and in 1977 changed to Victoria Prison to reflect its different functions. Victoria Prison was finally decommissioned in December 2005, ending its role as a penal establishment after 165 years of service in Hong Kong.

Being an integral part of the criminal justice system in Hong Kong in dealing with remand or sentenced prisoners, Victoria Prison witnessed changes in penal policies from colonial penality with emphasis in deterrence and control to modern custodial and rehabilitative services for offenders in Hong Kong. Owing to the nature of the service, prisons in Hong Kong are operated behind walls and fences and closed to the public. Very limited information was made available to the public on the work on Hong Kong's prison and correctional services until 1998 when the Correctional Services Department set up a Rehabilitation Division and began to conduct active campaigns to publicise its work to secure community support on its modern correctional philosophy and the related offender rehabilitation programmes.

To view this page ensure that Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.0 or greater is installed. Get Adobe Flash player