協力耕耘:嘉道理農業輔助會及戰後香港農業社會
最近瀏覽

關於特藏

「K三個A」

今日的嘉道理農場,是男女老幼消閒的好去處;農場的有機農產品亦有不少捧場客。不過,不少新界的老農民,對嘉道理農場,或他們口中的「K三個A」,卻別有一番感情和記憶。

他們記得的,是昔日的「嘉道理農業輔助會」(輔助會;KAAA,Kadoorie Agricultural Aid Association)。1940年代末期內地政局動盪,大批難民湧入香港。其中不少人散居新界,務農為生。嘉道理兄弟關注到他們生活困苦,因此於1951年成立輔助會,扶助貧農,並配合當時的漁農政策,讓難民自力更生。多年來,直接或間接受惠的新界農民超過三十萬。

「協力耕耘:嘉道理農業輔助會及戰後香港農業社會」展覽在2011年於香港歷史博物館舉行。展覽由「香港社會發展回顧」項目主辦、康樂及文化事務署協辦,以戰後香港農業社會為背景,透過「香港社會發展回顧」項目檔案庫的照片、影片,介紹輔助會於1950年代至1970年代扮演的角色,呈現昔日農業社會的生機脈搏,以及農民胼手胝足的自立精神。

本特藏展示該展覽的內容和資料,使更多人細味當中的故事,認識這段香港農業發展的歷史。

「香港社會發展回顧」項目由嘉道理家族、香港上海大酒店及中電於2007年推動開展。項目除了專責建立嘉道理檔案庫,亦舉辦不同的教育和社區活動,藉以傳揚保育歷史文化的信息。

www.hongkongheritage.org

A Partnership with the People: KAAA and Post-war Agricultural Hong Kong
Recently Visited

About the Collection



The “K triple A” (KAAA)

Today’s Kadoorie Farm is well known in Hong Kong by young and old alike as a serene getaway and for its fresh organic produce. But to those who were once farmers in the New Territories, the Farm, the symbol of the far-reaching activities of the Kadoorie Agricultural Aid Association (KAAA), means something very different.

Political instability in the Mainland since the late 1940s triggered an influx of immigrants into Hong Kong, many of whom subsisted on farming in the New Territories. Seeing their plight, Lawrence and Horace Kadoorie established KAAA in 1951 to introduce various agricultural programmes, with the aim of giving those who were willing to work a chance to help themselves. Over the years, more than 300,000 people from the New Territories received assistance in one form or another.

In assoication with the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, the Hong Kong Heritage Project held the exhibition on “A Partnership with the People: KAAA and Post-war Agricultural Hong Kong” in 2011 at the Hong Kong Museum of History. This exhibition sets its background against post-war agricultural Hong Kong from the 1950s to the 1970s. It tells the story of how, through hard work, tenacity, and the assistance of the KAAA, the agrarian community of the New Territories became self-supporting. Most of the historical information and photos contained in this exhibition come from the Hong Kong Heritage Project Archive.

This collection presents the contents and materials of the exhibition under the same title to allow the general public to appreciate the story and learn the history of Hong Kong agricultural development during the period of time.

The Hong Kong Heritage Project (HKHP) is a joint initiative by the Kadoorie Family, Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels and China Light and Power (CLP). Established in 2007 to preserve the records of the Kadoorie Family and their businesses, HKHP also promotes heritage preservation through education programmes and community initiatives.

www.hongkongheritage.org